My Latest Collection is Now Available!!!


I’m proud and totally jazzed to be able to announce that my latest collection of poems, essays and short stories is now available for purchase through CreateSpace and Amazon!

If you’re a fan of what I do on this blog, I have no qualms about highly recommending Coping With Terminal Stillness:

Coping With Terminal Stillness

My third collection!Click to Read!

Coping With Terminal Stillness: Poems, Short Stories and Other Broken Things is my third collection of verse and prose, and was just released January 17th, 2012.

It’s an interesting combination of poetry, essays and short stories revolving around three themed sections: Creation, Terminal Stillness, and Random Acts.

My goal with this collection was to marry all three of the aspects of my writing that this blog focuses on in some sort of cohesive whole.

So, the first section, Creation, includes poems based around nature themes and my view of the outside world.  Then, I also included a short story I wrote about nature running amok, called Mosquitoes.

The second section, Terminal Stillness, focuses more introspectively, or my view of the inside world, if you will.  The poems in this section are a bit darker and more intense, mostly with an autobiographical leaning.  Then I included a series of essays from the Timeless Principles posts on this blog because their focus is on self-improvement and development of the inner person.

Finally, the third section, Random Acts, is a loosely defined hodgepodge of poems and two short stories that involve random events or a loss of control.

I’m thrilled with the result, and I hope you find something of interest and value as well!

Here is a sample including the first twenty pages of the book, which gives you the full table of contents as well as the entire first section, Creation:

Coping With Terminal Stillness Sample

Please consider buying a copy for yourself or a friend if anything in the sample moves you!  Click on the cover to buy direct from the publisher.

As an alternative to buying directly from the publisher, especially if you’re an Amazon Prime member, or purchase a lot from them and can save on shipping, my books are also available through Amazon:

You’ll also notice a new page up in the navigation menu above labeled “Book Store”.  I have two other collections from 2008 and 2010 that you may be interested in as well.  Check them out!

Please also feel free to share this post with anyone and everyone who appreciates good independent publishing efforts.  We can use all the help we can get!

4 thoughts on “My Latest Collection is Now Available!!!

  1. Hi Justin, One of my favorite things to do is help and encourage people to achieve their dreams. But I don’t want to over step boundaries or appear to be a know it all, which I’m not.
    But I’ve just read a few things about book clubs and was wondering it you’d be interested.
    Phyllis

  2. I’m definitely interested in anything that can help me improve, but my trouble is balancing writing for money and for soul. Right now, just because the economy is what it is and I’ve recently moved to a brand new state, along with being my family’s only source of income, I have to focus pretty heavily on the commercial side of what I do. That leaves less time than I’d like for reading and writing for pleasure. I’d hate to have others relying on me for output and feedback that I end up not having time to complete.
    That being said, depending on the format and the time requirements, I’d be interested in hearing what you have in mind.

  3. Well, the plan is to help you get more readers and make more money.
    I found this blog from a money making writer with some great suggestions. And yes, it does take time.

    http://susankiernanlewis.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/the-scariest-thing-you-will-ever-do-as-a-writer/#wpl-likebox

    http://susankiernanlewis.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/why-local-book-clubs-are-the-single-best-way-to-sell-more-books-online/

    Are you in the library? There are thousands of of them out there.
    You might want to check out PLA 2012, Public Library Association biennial conference (placonference.org.) I’ve never check into them so I can’t give any advice, but your publisher might.

    The libraries in my area have book clubs. They have bags of eight books for a club to read. I have talked to them, they will accept a book for review and the possibility of adding said book to their club.

    They also have a place where they put new books on display.

    If you give them a book they will review it for both places. All books given to the library are tax exempt. And free advertising.

    One more thing, if you have not already done it. Contact local book club, or clubs, and give each person in the club a book and ask them to read and review. They are a great source for work of mouth.

    Every book club is an opportunity for you to make a a speaking appearance and sell more books.

    OK, one more last thing. No really!

    Libraries love to host loco authors. they set you up for free and supply the audience all you have to do is show up and be brilliant.

    Have fun. Please let me know if any of this helps.

    Of course if you already know all of this, never mind. ;0)

Leave a Reply

